top of page

Looking for you through the letterbox



Listening to the sound of the rain in the dark

Narcissus flowers bloom on my eyelids.

The quiet paints lilac brushstrokes on the floor and

I am cradled in a crib of memories,

head resting in a nook where the door meets the wall.

The house opens one idle eye; slitted, feline, purple-tinge

cold to touch and colder to press my ear to.


The breath of the outside floods in through the letterbox.


Amidst scattered leaflets and mail and the four corners

of a postage stamp, she writes love notes into my lips.

Lemon and ginger. Kisses that linger.

Pulling me closer by the belt loops of my jeans so we are hidden

by the bowed head of an umbrella.

Breath misting the air, we wear one fleece

and watch our reflections hurry down the street to

eat ice cream in the rain.


‘I bet nobody’s ever done this with you before’ she says,

Clearing the salt and pepper from the kitchen table.

‘Nobody’ I try to write, scribbling poetry on the back cover of the map.

I am realising one language isn’t enough. Personne, nadie, niemand…

Mahal kita.

But I missed something she said and now she’s turning off the light.


Counting out love with cups of tea

which stamp beige circles on the arm of the settee;

a constellation of footprints marching across the history of -

‘Would you like another cup?’

‘Yes please’.

And my heart unfolds like origami;


A swan, unfolding her paper wings only to realise they are tissue

and the moon can peer in through the window

and I wonder why her eyes are damp when I can

hear rain on the roof. No cup of tea can disintegrate me

Like the tears which she drops on my arms

as I hold her and try not to shake; try not to break

apart.

Since when could I feel my heart?

Perhaps since my bones became prison bars.


But then I’m singing in the car.

Mariah Carey, even though it’s only just November

and the weather says ‘no sign of a white Christmas’.

All those quiet spaces,

are held within light that streams through a window pane.

Sadness, contentment, tenderness, stenciled

on the wall like framed portraits; somewhere behind us

held between bricks of slate.

We will bury them when love notes are pushed through the door

and curl up on the doorstep to sleep.

6 views

Recent Posts

See All

Utopia

bottom of page