top of page

Utopia

Published in SINK Magazine, Issue #3 https://www.sinkmagazine.co.uk/


We didn't make it to utopia, you and me.

The mermaids were weeping at the gate and from their eyes

Poured oceans,

But I am not a thalassophile.

Their song was supposed to be lilting but I felt myself slip

down

the arpeggio of their voices,

losing traction on the smooth, slanted porcelain of semi-quavers.

We are out of tune, missed our stroke of serendipity.

Skimming stones on the beach to try and reach

The other side of the sea,

But we are afraid to get wet and

When the tide rolls in, we flee.

Life peeled a clementine

and the segments didn't align.

Like frosted gemstones, murky and crystalline

Glinting menacingly from the other side,

they taunt us with what we could have had.

These symbols of frivolity that I wrap around myself like a veil

Pour rubies and sapphires onto the aisle of our love.

They make it difficult to walk.

The ground is littered with the eclectic regalia of a

broken jewellery box

And I drop your ring, watch it shatter,

Watch diamonds and I love you's scatter.

These fragments of our paradise now puncture holes in the soles

Of my feet, rupture the labyrinth of my veins.

Soon my blood paints a red carpet beneath me.

Royalty.

I can only gaze forward towards the empty alter

Our utopia; except we were missing a piece of the mosaic.

Now, behind my photos of you, hovers an ethereal figure

Gaunt and pale, made translucent by ambiguity.

'Here comes the bride'

But where is she? Nobody expected her to crush her own fragile heart

Yet the remnants of it are delivered to you, still warm and resonant

with the mellifluous melody of us.

I may as well carve the words 'I do' into my flesh,

Soft and inviting like that of a peach, clammy and sickening.

It is easy for you to dig your nails in.

The harp string breaks.

It curls limply in my hand like a deflated promise.

If we can't have bliss together, we will both suffer here

on the wrong side of the frame,

Trapped by four right angles of disappointment.

2 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page